2109 N Glenstone Ave # J, Springfield, MO 65803, USA

(417) 831-3523

©2019 ABC Books

 
 
  • ABC Books

ABC Books 2019 Summer Reading List


Need some summer reading inspiration? Let our ABC Books staff help you out. From YA to military fiction we've got you covered. All books are available in-store at a limited quantity.

For the kiddos...


Meet all the regulars at the truck stop. This colorful picture book is perfect for young readers, and is full of describing words.


Age 8+. Incredible images of photo-realistic dinosaurs are blended with distinctive photography to demonstrate what it would be like if dinosaurs were still alive, and fact-filled pages explore all aspects of dinosaur research, from their extinction to the latest fossil discoveries.



A must-read for any age. One summer’s day, ten-year-old India Opal Buloni goes down to the local supermarket for some groceries – and comes home with a dog. But Winn-Dixie is no ordinary dog. It’s because of Winn-Dixie that Opal begins to make friends. And it’s because of Winn-Dixie that she finally dares to ask her father about her mother, who left when Opal was three. Featuring a new cover illustration by E. B. Lewis.


Howl with laughter with Dog Man, the internationally bestselling series from Dav Pilkey, the creator of Captain Underpants! Dav Pilkey's wildly popular Dog Man series appeals to readers of all ages and explores universally positive themes, including empathy, kindness, persistence, and the importance of being true to one's self.

For Teens...

This New York Times bestselling novel, perfect for fans of Jenny Han, Sarah Dessen, and Morgan Matson. Molly Barlow is facing one long, hot summer—99 days—with the boy whose heart she broke and the boy she broke it for...his brother.

Nights have always been Auden’s time, her chance to escape everything that’s going on around her. Then she meets Eli, a fellow insomniac, and he becomes her nocturnal tour guide. Now, with an endless supply of summer nights between them, almost anything can happen...

Fiction...

Few have failed to be charmed by the witty and independent spirit of Elizabeth Bennet in Austen’s beloved classic Pride and Prejudice. When Elizabeth Bennet first meets eligible bachelor Fitzwilliam Darcy, she thinks him arrogant and conceited; he is indifferent to her good looks and lively mind.

Two of Jack London’s best-loved masterpieces, in their entirety. Call of the Wild tells a compelling tale of adventure during the Yukon Gold Rush, and fully captures the unquenchable spirit of Buck, a kidnapped dog trying to survive in the harshest of environments. Also set in Alaska, the powerful White Fang follows the often savage life of the magnificent title character, a mix of wolf and dog.

France, 1939 - In the quiet village of Carriveau, Vianne Mauriac says goodbye to her husband, Antoine, as he heads for the Front. She doesn't believe that the Nazis will invade France … but invade they do, in droves of marching soldiers, in caravans of trucks and tanks, in planes that fill the skies and drop bombs upon the innocent. This unforgettable novel of love and strength in the face of war has enthralled a generation.

Mysteries...

"The beach read of the summer" need we say more? Dark mysteries come to East Hampton while a struggling lawyer fights to save his friend from being framed for a triple murder.

The first Miss Marple mystery, one which tests all her powers of observation and deduction. "Anyone who murdered Colonel Protheroe," declared the parson, brandishing a carving knife above a joint of roast beef, "would be doing the world at large a favor!"

Stephanie Plum's got rent to pay, people shooting at her, and psychos wanting her dead every day of the week (much to the dismay of her mother, her family, the men in her life, the guy who slices meat at the deli...oh, the list goes on). An ordinary person would cave under the pressure. But hey, she's from Jersey.

Thrilling Short Stories...

Eleven of the world’s best female thriller writers from Diana Gabaldon to Charlaine Harris are paired with eleven of the world’s best male thriller writers, including John Sandford, C.J. Box, and Nelson DeMille. The stories are edited by #1 New York Times bestselling author Lee Child.

Military Fiction...

The head of clandestine operations in Afghanistan has been kidnapped, his four bodyguards executed in cold blood. With the CIA plunged into crisis mode, Rapp is dispatched to find his missing friend, Joe Rickman, at all costs.

An unknown doomsday virus has claimed the lives of four people across the country―including Dr. Sophia Russell, a research scientist working to understand the disease. Bitter and broken-hearted over her death, Lt. Colonel Jon Smith is determined to uncover the cause of the virus that killed her―and prevent it from turning into a pandemic of epic proportions.